Squash’s view

Many people stopped to ‘say hello’ to this fine squash last Saturday. Children would run their hands across its skin saying, ‘bumpy,’ while one lady declared it ‘so decorative.’ Many people said they had never seen anything like it before in their lives.

This variety of winter squash is ‘Marina Di Chioggia.’

I quote from the seed catalog: “This heirloom squash traces its roots to the coastal town of Chioggia, Italy. These large, dusty-green, bumpy, turban-shaped squash average 10 pounds. The rich sweet flesh is deep yellow-orange and simply delicious in pies or baked. In Italy it is prized for gnocchi and for roasting.”

I look forward to trying this fantastic looking squash.

Here are some sweet pie pumpkins (all three in foreground) with other winter squash at our booth at the Bakerview EcoDairy’s Vintage Fall Fair last week.

This Saturday marks the first week since the beginning of August that we have not been at the Abbotsford Farmer’s Market. Beginning Oct.30, you can find us at the Abbotsford Farm and Country Market’s indoor winter market. Come to the site of the outdoor market, but come inside the United church to find most of the vendors. For winter market dates please see their website.

I have added a few new recipes on the “What’s Cooking” page. I especially enjoyed the Roast Beet-Kale Salad with Balsalmic Vinegrette. Enjoy.

Also, we still have more space in our Garden Box program. If you’d like to sign up please call or email us.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Squash’s view

  1. Maria

    I’ve never been one to make a point of preparing winter squash… frankly, I wasn’t even sure how to prepare it! The two little squashes I got in my garden box last week left me feeling a little daunted, but I rolled up my sleeves and roasted them up with some carrots, potatoes, an onion and some garlic this evening. Blended with some stock, cream and spices, they made a fantastic soup which I’m enjoying right now!

    I’m looking forward to trying more squash in the near future.

Leave a comment